Why Are Kohli, Bumrah, Kuldeep, Hardik, Siraj, and Iyer Absent From India vs. Bangladesh’s Asia Cup 2023 Match?

Asia Cup 2023
Spread the love

With five changes to their starting eleven, India has significantly changed their lineup for the pivotal Asia Cup 2023 match against Bangladesh. Notably absent from the squad are Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, and Mohammed Siraj.

Tilak Varma made his debut, and the starting XI also included Suryakumar Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, and Prasidh Krishna. During the toss, captain Rohit Sharma made it clear that they intended to give everyone player a chance to play.

Unfortunately, Shreyas Iyer is still unable to play because of a persistent back problem that has kept him out of the previous games against Pakistan and Sri Lanka as well as this one. Given that he has only participated in two matches after returning from a back injury that necessitated surgery, this circumstance raises questions about his readiness for the 2017 World Cup.

These adjustments are in line with India’s plan to give each of their 17 players a chance to compete in the competition. Notably, despite not being a member of India’s World Cup roster for 2023, Tilak and Prasidh have both been selected. Given Shreyas’ uncertain condition and reservations over his performance, Suryakumar has a great opportunity to push his claim for a middle-order spot in the XI.

In the competition, Mohammed Shami has already made an appearance, taking Jasprit Bumrah’s place against Nepal when he had to take a brief leave of absence for personal matters.

It’s vital to note that India has already qualified for the championship game against Sri Lanka on Sunday, September 17.

Here are the playing XIs for both teams:

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, KL Rahul(w), Ishan Kishan, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Prasidh Krishna

Bangladesh (Playing XI): Litton Das(w), Tanzid Hasan, Anamul Haque, Shakib Al Hasan(c), Towhid Hridoy, Shamim Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Mustafizur Rahman

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *