South Africa Announces Squads for Home Series Against India

Rassie van der Dussen
Spread the love

South Africa has unveiled its squads for the upcoming home series against India, set to commence on December 10. The series encompasses a challenging multi-format schedule, beginning with three T20Is, followed by as many ODIs, and concluding with two Tests, contributing to the ICC World Test Championship 2023-25 cycle.

Rest and Rotation Policy: Bavuma and Rabada Rested for ODIs

Temba Bavuma and Kagiso Rabada, key players for South Africa, will be rested during the ODI segment of the series, making a return for the Test matches. Aiden Markram, captaining the Proteas in T20Is, will continue to lead in ODIs in Bavuma’s absence.

Strategic Omissions for Red-Ball Preparation

Gerald Coetzee, Marco Jansen, and Lungi Ngidi will miss the final T20I and the entire ODI series to prepare for the Test matches. They will be participating in first-class matches for their domestic teams, emphasizing South Africa’s focus on the red-ball leg of the tour.

“We have a busy summer ahead starting with the T20Is and then ODIs against India, and we have therefore taken the decision to omit several of our senior players,” said a team official. This move opens opportunities for emerging talents who have excelled at the domestic level.

Maiden Call-ups and Player Additions

Three players – all-rounder Mihlali Mpongwana, batter David Bedingham, and fast bowler Nandre Burger – have received their maiden international call-ups. Mpongwana earned his spot in the ODI squad following an impressive CSA Division 1 One-Day Cup campaign.

Batter Tristan Stubbs and wicket-keeper Kyle Verreynne have also earned their maiden Test call-ups, while Lizaad Williams has been added to the T20I and ODI squads. Unfortunately, Anrich Nortje and Wayne Parnell are absent due to ongoing recoveries from injuries.

Excitement and Optimism from the Coaching Staff

Test coach Shukri Conrad expressed enthusiasm for the series, highlighting South Africa’s impeccable record against India at home. “It is the start of a new ICC World Test Championship cycle, and that itself is a huge incentive for everyone,” Conrad stated. He emphasized the team’s determination to make a strong start to the sequence at home against one of the world’s top teams.

Detailed Squad Listings

  • South Africa T20I Squad: Aiden Markram (c), Ottniel Baartman, Matthew Breetzke, Nandre Burger, Gerald Coetzee (1st and 2nd T20Is), Donovan Ferreira, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen (1st and 2nd T20Is), Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi (1st and 2nd T20Is), Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, and Lizaad Williams.
  • South Africa ODI Squad: Aiden Markram (c), Ottniel Baartman, Nandre Burger, Tony de Zorzi, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Mihlali Mpongwana, David Miller, Wiaan Mulder, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, and Lizaad Williams.
  • South Africa Test Squad: Temba Bavuma, David Bedingham, Nandre Burger, Gerald Coetzee, Tony de Zorzi, Dean Elgar, Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Keegan Petersen, Kagiso Rabada, Tristan Stubbs, and Kyle Verreynne.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *