Indians Shine in ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year for 2023

T20I Team of the Year for 2023
Spread the love

The International Cricket Council (ICC) recently unveiled the much-anticipated T20 International Team of the Year for 2023, and the spotlight is firmly on India. A quartet of talented Indian players – Yashasvi Jaiswal, Suryakumar Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi, and Arshdeep Singh – have secured their places in the esteemed lineup. Notably, Suryakumar Yadav has been bestowed with the captaincy, showcasing India’s dominance in the T20I arena.

ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year for 2023

Indian Prowess:

In a remarkable feat, no players from cricket powerhouses Australia, Pakistan, South Africa, or Bangladesh made it to the prestigious ICC T20I Team of the Year. This underscores the exceptional performances of the Indian contingent, who have outshone their global counterparts.

Diverse Inclusion:

Apart from the Indian quartet, the T20I Team of the Year exhibits a diverse mix of talents from around the cricketing world. The lineup includes representatives from Zimbabwe, Ireland, England, West Indies, Uganda, and New Zealand, showcasing the global nature of the T20 format.

The Stellar XI:

The ICC T20I Team of the Year for 2023 comprises a formidable XI:

  1. Phil Salt (England)
  2. Nicholas Pooran (West Indies) – Wicketkeeper
  3. Mark Chapman (New Zealand)
  4. Mark Adair (Ireland)
  5. Sikandar Raza & Richard Ngarava (Zimbabwe)
  6. Alpesh Ramjani (Uganda)
  7. Suryakumar Yadav (India) – Captain
  8. Yashasvi Jaiswal (India)
  9. Ravi Bishnoi (India)
  10. Arshdeep Singh (India)

Batting Order and Roles:

The opening duties have been entrusted to Yashasvi Jaiswal and England’s Phil Salt, with the explosive Nicholas Pooran batting at number three and donning the wicketkeeping gloves. Captain Suryakumar Yadav holds the key at number four, followed by Mark Chapman and Sikandar Raza. Alpesh Ramjani from Uganda occupies the seventh spot, setting the stage for the formidable bowling attack.

Indian Debutants’ Impact:

Among the Indian players, Yashasvi Jaiswal made a memorable debut in 2023, amassing 430 runs in 15 games, including a century and three fifties, at an impressive strike rate of 159. Suryakumar Yadav showcased his T20 prowess by scoring 733 runs in 18 games, featuring two centuries and five fifties, at a strike rate of 156.

Bowling Brilliance:

The Indian bowling duo of Ravi Bishnoi and Arshdeep Singh played pivotal roles in the team’s success. Arshdeep, with 26 wickets in 21 games, boasted a best of 3/20 at a remarkable strike rate of 15.8. Meanwhile, spinner Bishnoi claimed 18 wickets in 11 games, with a best of 3/24 and a striking rate of 14.6.


The ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year for 2023 is a testament to the brilliance of the Indian players who have carved their names among the best in the world. With a formidable lineup blending youth and experience, India’s T20 cricketing future looks bright, promising more exhilarating performances on the global stage.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *