India vs. Australia ODI Series 2023

India vs. Australia ODI series
Spread the love

Warm-up matches, auditions, and match fitness are crucial aspects of India’s final preparation for the ICC World Cup 2023, as they face the formidable Australian side. As India gears up for the showpiece event on home soil, Rohit Sharma and his team will use the three-match One Day International (ODI) series against Australia as a vital warm-up. The World Cup hosts have announced two squads for this short yet significant ODI series against the five-time world champions.

In the first two ODIs against Australia, India will be without their skipper Rohit Sharma, vice-captain Hardik Pandya, batting maestro Virat Kohli, and the in-form spinner Kuldeep Yadav. Instead, the hosts have included the veteran spinner Ravichandran Ashwin and the versatile all-rounder Washington Sundar in the squad. All-rounder Axar Patel, recovering from a hamstring injury sustained during the Asia Cup, is included in the squad for the third ODI, contingent upon his match fitness.

Here is the schedule for the India vs. Australia ODI series in 2023:

1st ODI: September 22nd (Friday) at Mohali
2nd ODI: September 24th (Sunday) at Indore
3rd ODI: September 27th (Wednesday) at Rajkot
For those looking to watch the matches online, all three ODIs will be available for live streaming on JioCinema, starting at 1:30 PM IST.

In a noteworthy development, wicketkeeper-batsman KL Rahul, who made a sensational return to international cricket during the Asia Cup, will lead the Indian team in the first two ODIs against Australia. Middle-order batsman Shreyas Iyer, who missed key matches in the Asia Cup due to back spasms, is set to feature in the entire ODI series. Premier batsman Suryakumar Yadav, who had limited opportunities at the Asia Cup, will also aim to strengthen his case for selection in the Australia series. Additionally, World Cup rejects Tilak Varma and Prasidh Krishna have earned spots in the ODI squads. After the World Cup, India and Australia will face off in a five-match T20I series in November-December.

India’s squads for the Australia ODIs are as follows:

India squad for first two ODIs: KL Rahul (c), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Mohammed Shami, Tilak Varma, Prasidh Krishna, R Ashwin, Washington Sundar.

India squad for the final ODI: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Mohammed Shami, Hardik Pandya, Virat Kohli, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel (subject to fitness), R Ashwin, Washington Sundar.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *