India vs. Australia 3rd ODI: 5 Returns, Gaikwad & Krishna Out

India vs. Australia 3rd ODI
Spread the love

India vs. Australia 3rd ODI: In a spectacular display of cricketing prowess, India emerged victorious over Australia by a commanding margin of 99 runs in the rain-affected second ODI of their ongoing three-match bilateral series on September 24. This thrilling encounter unfolded at the Holkar Cricket Stadium in Indore, where India, after being invited to bat first, flexed their batting might to set an imposing total of 399 runs for the loss of five wickets in their allotted 50 overs. Despite rain interruptions during the latter part of the match, Australia was tasked with chasing a revised target of 317 runs in 33 overs. However, they struggled to contend with the spin wizardry of Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja, eventually succumbing to a total of 217 runs in just 28.2 overs. This resounding victory not only secured the series for India but also solidified their position as the world’s No. 1 ODI team as they head into the ODI World Cup 2023.

Quest for a Whitewash: India Eyes Third ODI Victory

With the series already in their favor, India now has their sights set on a clean sweep, aiming to win the third ODI scheduled at the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot on September 27. This crucial match serves as India’s final preparation before the ODI World Cup 2023 warm-up matches commence, and the team will assemble a 17-member squad, including all the World Cup players who will return for the Rajkot showdown.

Key Squad Changes for the Third ODI

OUT: India will bid farewell to opening batsman Ruturaj Gaikwad, fast bowler Prasidh Krishna, and middle-order batsman Tilak Varma for the third ODI. These players were selected only for the initial two matches. Ruturaj Gaikwad, who is set to lead India in the Asian Games 2023, featured as an opener in both games. Prasidh Krishna got a chance to shine in the second ODI, stepping in for the rested Jasprit Bumrah, while Tilak Varma remained on the bench for both encounters. Additionally, Bengal pacer Mukesh Kumar, drafted into the squad as a replacement for Bumrah in the second ODI, will also sit out.

IN: The return of rested stalwarts is set to bolster India’s lineup. Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, and Kuldeep Yadav will all make their much-anticipated comebacks for the third ODI. Furthermore, the availability of all-rounder Axar Patel hinges on his fitness update, following an injury sustained during India’s Asia Cup 2023 Super Fours match against Bangladesh on September 15. Notably, Jasprit Bumrah, the star pacer granted a brief break by the team management, will also be available for selection.

India’s Squad for the Third ODI Against Australia

The Indian squad for the third ODI boasts a formidable lineup: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (Wicketkeeper), Ishan Kishan (Wicketkeeper), Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Mohammed Shami, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, and Axar Patel (pending fitness update).

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *