Historic Qualification for Uganda in ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2024
Spread the love

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024: The 20-team roster for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in 2024 was officially finalized on Thursday, marking a historic moment for Uganda as they secured their maiden qualification for the prestigious tournament in the game’s shortest format.

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

Uganda and Namibia Triumph in Africa Qualifier

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, Uganda and table-toppers Namibia emerged as the triumphant teams in the Africa qualifier event, thereby creating history. However, this success meant that Test nation Zimbabwe missed out on the qualification for the T20 World Cup.

USA to Host Inaugural Top-Tier ICC Event with West Indies as Co-Hosts

Two significant points stand out for the 2024 T20 World Cup:

  1. USA Hosting Debut: The United States will host a top-tier ICC event for the first time, with the West Indies joining them as co-hosts.
  2. Record 20 Teams: It will be the first occasion when a T20 World Cup will feature a remarkable 20 teams competing, showcasing the global growth of the sport.

Diverse Lineup of 20 Teams Revealed

Here’s the list of 20 teams set to compete in the T20 World Cup next year:

  • Afghanistan
  • Australia
  • Bangladesh
  • Canada
  • England
  • India
  • Ireland
  • Namibia
  • Nepal
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Scotland
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • West Indies
  • Uganda
  • USA

The selection criteria include the hosts, top eight teams from the 2022 T20 World Cup, the next two teams based on T20 International rankings, and qualifiers from the Americas (1), Asia (2), East Asia-Pacific (1), Europe (2), and Africa (2).

New Format Unveiled for Expanded Tournament

With the expanded lineup of 20 teams, the T20 World Cup will feature a revamped format:

  • Group Stage: An initial group stage comprising four groups of five teams each, where the top two from each group will progress to the ‘Super Eight’ stage.
  • Super Eight: Two groups of four teams each in the ‘Super Eight’ phase, with the top two teams from each group advancing to the semi-finals.
  • Semi-finals and Final: The tournament will culminate with the top four teams competing in the semi-finals, followed by the championship final. This new format promises heightened competition and global representation in the T20 World Cup.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *