Babar Azam’s 2023 World Cup Favorites

2023 World Cup
Spread the love

2023 World Cup: In a departure from cricketing rivalries, Babar Azam, the captain of Pakistan, has expressed his admiration for three outstanding batsmen: Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, and Kane Williamson. These three players, despite being from India and New Zealand, have earned Babar’s respect and appreciation. This respect is particularly notable because India and Pakistan maintain one of cricket’s fiercest rivalries.

2023 World Cup

Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma, two star Indian batsmen, have showcased their prowess in the ongoing ICC 2023 World Cup, with Kohli amassing 354 runs in five innings and Rohit scoring 311 runs in the same number of innings. Babar doesn’t hesitate to acknowledge their exceptional abilities, despite the competitive backdrop.

In addition to these Indian cricketers, Kane Williamson from New Zealand also holds a special place in Babar’s list of favorite batters. Williamson is known for his calm and composed demeanor, which has earned him a dedicated fan following. While his campaign has been marred by injuries, he is expected to make a return in the final stages of New Zealand’s World Cup campaign.

Babar Azam said, “Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, and Kane Williamson are my favorite batsmen in the world. They are among the best players globally because they have a profound understanding of playing conditions. I greatly admire them.”

He further elaborated on what he finds most impressive about these three batsmen, saying, “What I admire most about Virat, Rohit, and Kane is their ability to rescue their teams from challenging situations and score runs against formidable bowling attacks. This is a quality I strive to emulate and learn from.”

Babar Azam himself is recognized as one of the top contemporary batters in the world of cricket. However, his individual contributions with the bat have fallen short in the ongoing World Cup. Despite this, he made a significant impact by scoring a half-century in difficult conditions during Pakistan’s one-wicket loss to South Africa, helping his team achieve a competitive total.

As Pakistan continues its quest to secure crucial victories in the tournament, they are scheduled to face Bangladesh on Tuesday at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

Pakistan squad: Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Abdullah Shafique, Mohammad Rizwan, Saud Shakeel, Iftikhar Ahmed, Salman Ali Agha, Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Afridi, Mohammad Wasim.

Bangladesh squad: Shakib Al Hasan (c), Litton Kumer Das, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Najmul Hossain Shanto (vc), Tawhid Hridoy, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nasum Ahmed, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *