Kohli vs Rohit: Captaincy Duel

Asia Cup 2023
Spread the love

Kohli vs Rohit: Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma are two significant figures in India’s current generation of cricketers. They both have substantial experience in the squad and have routinely been listed among the top 10 ODI batsmen by the ICC. The discussion over who has been the more successful captain in all three formats of the game, on the other hand, persists.

Let’s start with the total amount of matches each of them has captained before evaluating their respective achievements. Kohli, India’s former captain, led the squad in 213 matches, including 68 Tests, 95 ODIs, and 50 T20Is. In comparison, India’s current captain, Rohit Sharma, has led the team in 93 matches, including 9 Tests, 33 ODIs, and 51 T20Is.

While Rohit’s ODI captaincy is shorter than Kohli’s, his victory % exceeds that of his predecessor. Rohit has a winning percentage of 72.87, with India winning 24 of the 33 matches played and losing eight. During Kohli’s captaincy, India won 65 of 95 ODIs, with 27 losses, for a winning percentage of 68.42.

In Test cricket, Kohli captained the squad in 68 matches, winning 40 of them. India has won 5 of the 9 Tests played under Rohit’s captaincy. In this format as well, Rohit has a greater victory percentage of 71.42 compared to Kohli’s 58.82.

When it comes to Twenty20 Internationals, the story changes slightly. In T20Is, Rohit has captained the side more frequently. Under Rohit’s leadership, India has played 51 games, winning 39 of them. Virat, on the other hand, has captained the team in 50 matches, winning 30 of them. In T20Is, Rohit has a winning percentage of 76.47, which is higher than Kohli’s winning percentage of 64.58.

In summary, Rohit Sharma has a higher winning rate as a captain than Virat Kohli when all three formats are considered. However, Kohli still has more wins than Rohit in ODIs and Tests, while Rohit has more wins than Kohli in T20I matches.

Looking ahead, India’s cricket squad is focused on the three-match One-Day International (ODI) series against Australia, which begins on September 22, 2023. Notably, Kohli, Rohit, and Hardik Pandya will miss the opening two ODIs, with KL Rahul captaining the team.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *