England’s ODI World Cup History: A Factbox

England's ODI World Cup History
Spread the love

England’s ODI World Cup History: Alot will be at stake for the defending ODI World Cup champions, England, as they kick off their campaign against New Zealand. This match will serve as a rematch of the thrilling 2019 final.

Over the past 12 editions of the 50-over World Cup, England’s performance has been a roller-coaster ride. However, despite the unforgettable memory of July 14, 2019, when England clinched the title, it’s time for them to start anew on October 5.

Whenever an England cricket team enters the World Cup, fans and experts have high expectations, and this time is no different, especially with England coming in as the defending champions.

England has a history of consistency in the latter stages of the tournament. They’ve reached the knockout stages on eight occasions and the Super Eight stage once, with only three group stage exits.

England’s ODI World Cup History

Let’s take a closer look at England’s journey in the ODI World Cup along with some key statistics:

Titles: 1

World Cup Recap: The era from 1975 to 1996 in English cricket saw the emergence of legends, from captain Mike Denness and Tony Greig in the inaugural World Cup to Ian Botham and Geoffrey Boycott in the 1980s. In 1992, Graham Gooch’s team reached the final in Australia and New Zealand but lost to Imran Khan’s Pakistan. Despite consistent quarter-final appearances in this period, England finished as runners-up in 1979, 1987, and 1992.

There were, however, three painful group stage exits in 1999, 2003, and 2015. The 2015 edition in Australia and New Zealand was particularly memorable for England’s early exit, despite a team featuring Eoin Morgan, Moeen Ali, Jos Buttler, and Joe Root.

Four years later, England found redemption on home soil. In the 2019 edition, led by Morgan and featuring rising star Jofra Archer, they narrowly defeated New Zealand at Lord’s, clinching the title based on a boundary count.

Now, in 2023, England faces New Zealand again, completing a full circle.

Edition-Wise Performances:

  • 1975: Semi-finals
  • 1979: Runners-up
  • 1983: Semi-finals
  • 1987: Runners-up
  • 1992: Runners-up
  • 1996: Quarter-finals
  • 1999: Group stage
  • 2003: Group stage
  • 2007: Super Eights
  • 2011: Quarter-finals
  • 2015: Group stage
  • 2019: Champions

World Cup Record:

  • Matches: 84
  • Won: 49
  • Lost: 33
  • No Result: 1
  • Tied: 1

Team Records:

  • Highest total: 397/6 vs Afghanistan in Manchester, 2019
  • Lowest total: 93 vs Australia in Leeds, 1975

Individual Records:

  • Most runs — Joe Root (6246 runs)
  • Most wickets — Adil Rashid (184 wickets)
  • Highest individual score — Andrew Strauss (158 runs vs India in Bengaluru, 2011)
  • Best bowling figures — Vic Marks (5/39 vs Sri Lanka in Taunton, 1983)
  • Most catches — Alec Stewart (21 catches)

ICC ODI Ranking: 5


  • 5 October: vs New Zealand in Ahmedabad
  • 10 October: vs Bangladesh in Dharamsala
  • 15 October: vs Afghanistan in New Delhi
  • 21 October: vs South Africa in Mumbai
  • 26 October: vs Sri Lanka in Bengaluru
  • 29 October: vs India in Lucknow
  • 4 November: vs Australia in Ahmedabad
  • 8 November: vs Netherlands in Pune
  • 11 November: vs Pakistan in Kolkata

World Cup Squad:

  • Jos Buttler (captain)
  • Moeen Ali
  • Gus Atkinson
  • Jonny Bairstow
  • Sam Curran
  • Liam Livingstone
  • Dawid Malan
  • Adil Rashid
  • Joe Root
  • Harry Brook
  • Ben Stokes
  • Reece Topley
  • David Willey
  • Mark Wood
  • Chris Woakes

Please note that this text is a paraphrased version of the original content, ensuring that it is plagiarism-free.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *