Neeraj Chopra Leads 28-Member Indian Athletics Team for Paris Olympics 2024

Paris Olympics 2024
Spread the love

Defending champion Neeraj Chopra will spearhead a formidable 28-member Indian athletics contingent at the Paris Olympics, starting July 26. The 26-year-old Tokyo Games gold medallist and reigning world champion in javelin throw has opted to skip the last Diamond League event this weekend in Paris to focus on his preparation for the quadrennial spectacle.

Prominent Athletes in the Squad

The Indian athletics team for the Paris Olympics 2024 comprises 17 men and 11 women athletes. Apart from Neeraj Chopra, other notable names include Asian Games champions Avinash Sable and Tejinderpal Singh Toor, as well as sprint hurdler Jyothi Yarraji. The selection of these athletes was largely anticipated, with many having shown exceptional performances in recent events.

Men’s 4x400m Relay Team

The men’s 4x400m relay team, featuring Muhammed Anas, Muhammed Ajmal, Amoj Jacob, and Rajesh Ramesh, has garnered significant attention. This team made headlines by outperforming the USA team in one of the heats at the last World Championships, setting high expectations for their performance in Paris.

New Events and Changes

The track and field competitions will take place at the Stade de France from August 1 to August 11. This year, World Athletics has introduced a marathon race walk mixed-relay event, while the men’s 50km race walk has been excluded from the Olympic program.

Indian Athletics Team for Paris Olympics 2024


  • Avinash Sable: 3,000m steeplechase
  • Neeraj Chopra: Javelin throw
  • Kishore Kumar Jena: Javelin throw
  • Tajinderpal Singh Toor: Shot put
  • Praveen Chithravel: Triple jump
  • Abdulla Aboobacker: Triple jump
  • Akshdeep Singh: 20km race walk
  • Vikash Singh: 20km race walk
  • Paramjeet Singh Bisht: 20km race walk
  • Muhammed Anas: 4x400m relay
  • Muhammed Ajmal: 4x400m relay
  • Amoj Jacob: 4x400m relay
  • Santhosh Tamilarasan: 4x400m relay
  • Rajesh Ramesh: 4x400m relay
  • Mijo Chacko Kurian: 4x400m relay
  • Suraj Panwar: Race walk mixed marathon
  • Sarvesh Anil Kushare: High jump


  • Kiran Pahal: 400m
  • Parul Chaudhary: 3,000m steeplechase and 5,000m
  • Jyothi Yarraji: 100m hurdles
  • Annu Rani: Javelin throw
  • Abha Khatua: Shot put
  • Jyothika Sri Dandi: 4x400m relay
  • Subha Venkatesan: 4x400m relay
  • Vithya Ramraj: 4x400m relay
  • Poovamma MR: 4x400m relay
  • Prachi: 4x400m relay
  • Priyanka Goswami: 20km race walk/race walk mixed marathon

Support from the Indian Olympic Association

In a related video, Indian Olympic Association (IOA) president PT Usha conveyed her best wishes to the Indian contingent, urging them to perform without tension and make the nation proud.

The anticipation is high as the Indian athletes gear up to showcase their talent and determination on the world stage at the Paris Olympics 2024.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *